An accessibility audit is an in-depth review of your website or application to find out how accessible it is to users disabilities. The audit is used to identify accessibility violations outlined by Section 508 and Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG). Our web accessibility consultants perform manual and automated tests to identify accessibility violations. We can help determine critical bugs that people with disabilities might encounter.

We can guide your organization on how to become Section 508, and/or WCAG compliant. We can help you establish a solid process to follow these laws and policies, to eliminate the risk of lawsuits, and to ensure that your website or application is reaching your target audience. 

Who is Required to be Compliant?

Section 508 is limited to the federal sector, including government agencies, public higher education institutions, public K-12 schools, and non-profits funded by the federal government. If your organization receives federal funding, your website is required to be accessible. 

However, even when Section 508 doesn't apply, many non-federal websites are still required to be accessible under other laws, such as Section 504 Rehabilitation Act of 1973, or state or local laws. 

Read the news article on how the Supreme Court hands victory to blind man who sued Domino’s over site accessibility.

Accessibility Considerations

Section 508 may not apply to your website, but other laws likely do, so it is important your website is accessible. Regardless of whether or not federal regulations apply to your website or application, making your designs accessible for all users will help your organization meet the needs of all your customers. 

Accessibility Laws & Policies

  • Section 508

    Section 508 applies to the federal government employees and members of the public with disabilities, who wish to access government information and communications, including government websites and other media. There may be implications at a state policy level. Many states have laws and policies on developing, procuring, maintaining, or using electronic and information technology as well. These standards are part of the Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) and require access for both members of the public and federal employees. The Access Board provides technical guidance and training on Section 508 Standards. 

  • Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)

    WCAG is an international standard that documents and explains how to make web content more accessible for people with disabilities. It is developed through the W3C process in cooperation with individuals and organizations around the world, with a goal of proving a single standard for web content accessibility. 

    WCAG Quick Reference Guide

Other Resources

World Wide Consortium (W3C) develops international standards for Web: HTML, CSS, and more. 

Web Accessibility Initiative  (WAI) develops standards and support materials to help understand and implement accessibility.